• Student Council:

    The purpose of the Student Council of Portville Central School is to give the students a voice in the operation of the school, thus improving school morale.  It is also organized to give training in the principles, procedures, ideals, habits, duties and privileges of democracy and leadership.  The membership of the Student Council is from the junior and senior high school students.  These students are the six presidents of grades 7 through 12, four elected representatives from each class, and one representative from each club.  All school activities, dances, parties, etc, must be first approved by the office with the names of chaperones before being submitted to the Council for approval.  Chaperones and police should have a one-week notice.


    The officers of the Student Council are President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Sergeant at Arms.  All Student Council officers are elected by the membership.  A student who faces repeated disciplinary action or who fails to live up to the standards of membership may be required to terminate his/her position on the Student Council.


    National Honor Society

    The Portville chapter of the National Honor Society of Secondary Schools was founded in February 1955.  A student in the junior and senior class who has achieved a cumulative average of 90% is eligible for consideration for membership based upon the three additional qualifications of leadership, character and service. Selection for the National Honor Society is made by the Faculty Council after the first marking period.  The Faculty Council carefully reviews each candidate's Student Activity Packet and also considers a Faculty Survey, which rates each candidate before selecting new members.  National Honor Society members participate in activities which promote academics and service to others in the school and community.  A student who fails to live up to the standards of membership may be subject to disciplinary action.  The Faculty Council may determine that a member may not participate in the next induction ceremony.  In some instances, a student may be required to terminate his /her membership as required by the National Honor Society guidelines.


    Other Organizations/Clubs

    Students and  parents are encouraged to become involved in the following activities:

    Student Council                     Football

    Class of 2008                          Boy’s Soccer

    Class of 2009                          Girl’s Soccer

    Class or 2010                          Girl’s Swimming

    Class of 2011                          Girl’s Volleyball

    National Honor Society        Football Cheerleading

    Art Club                                  Boy’s Basketball

    Yearbook Club                       Girl’s Basketball

    Drama Club                            Basketball Cheerleading

    Varsity Club                           Wrestling

    Ski Club                                  Softball

    Interact Club                          Baseball

    International Club                 Boy’s Track

    American Field Service         Girl’s Track

    Anime Club                            Golf

    Sports Boosters Club           Dollars for Scholars

    Parents And Teachers Helping Students


    Music Boosters Club         

    President - Ray Sprout         

    Vice President - Sharon Simon                

    Secretary - Penny McCutcheon
    Treasurer - Deb Austin


    Dollars for Scholars

    President - Dan Schmidt

    Secretary - Tom Steen

    Treasurer - Judy McClain



    Advisor - Dave Shelc           


    Sports Boosters                  

    President - Pat Stromberg    

    Vice President - Laurie Putzstuck           

    Secretary - Emily Woodhead         

    Treasurer - Linda Summers         



    President - Jean Smith          

    Vice President - Heather Wray                

    Secretary - Val Ambroselli            

    Treasurer - Cindy Hinz


    Student Council

    President - Brooke Burrows

    Vice President - Brad Hollamby

    Secretary - Liz Meyers

    Treasurer - Dustin Card

    Sgt. At Arms - Courtney Schmidt


    Senior Class 2008

    President - Alan Elliott

    Vice President - Katherine Mallery

    Secretary - Stephanie Tierson

    Treasurer - Elizabeth Woodhead


    Junior Class-2009                             

    President - Leah Doty/Lucas Hellwig    

    Vice President - Laura Giberson    

    Secretary - Morgan Costanza/Katlin Gerringer     

    Treasurer - Alexis Jordan